The Telegraph

Man Booker Prize longlist snubs Amis, McEwan and Smith

The Man Booker Prize longlist for 2012 has been revealed



The Man Booker Prize judges for 2012 from left to right: Bharat Tandon, Dinah Birch, Sir Peter Stothard, Amanda Foreman and Dan Stevens

By Anita Singh 25 July 2012

The Man Booker Prize longlist has snubbed the "old guard" with Rose Tremain, Zadie Smith, Ian McEwan and Martin Amis failing to make the cut.

The list of 12 books includes *Bring Up The Bodies* by Hilary Mantel, a sequel to her 2009 Booker winner *Wolf Hall*.

Nicola Barker, Michael Frayn and Will Self were also selected.

But big names including Zadie Smith, Martin Amis, Rose Tremain, Ian McEwan and Peter Carey failed to make the list, with the judges choosing works from new writers and and small independent publishers.

There are four debut novelists on the list.

The 12 contenders are:

The Yips - Nicola Barker
The Teleportation Accident - Ned Beauman
Philida - Andre Brink
The Garden of Evening Mists - Tan Twan Eng
Skios - Michael Frayn
The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry - Rachel Joyce
Swimming Home - Deborah Levy
Bring Up The Bodies - Hilary Mantel
The Lighthouse - Alison Moore
Umbrella - Will Self
Narcopolis - Jeet Thayil
Communion Town - Sam Thompson

The four debut novelists are Joyce, Moore, Thayil and Thompson.

Peter Stothard, chairman of the judges, said: "Goodness, madness and bewildering urban change are among the themes of this year's longlist. In an extraordinary year for fiction the 'Man Booker Dozen' proves the grip that the novel has on our world.

"We did not set out to reject the old guard but, after a year of sustained critical argument by a demanding panel of judges, the new has come powering through."

Zadie Smith's long-awaited fourth novel, *NW*, had been expected to make the longlist, as had Rose Tremain's *Restoration* follow-up *Merivel: A Man Of His Time*. There was no place on the list for *The Chemistry of Tears* by Peter Carey, *Sweet Tooth* by Ian McEwan, *Ancient Light* by John Banville, *Capital* by John Lanchester or *Lionel Asbo* by Martin Amis - all of which had been tipped as contenders.

The longlist was whittled down from 145 titles. The shortlist will be announced on September 11 and the winner on October 16.

The five judges for this year's prize are the chairman Sir Peter Stothard, editor of the TLS; academic Dinah Birch; Bharat Tandon, a former Oxford academic and regular fiction reviewer; Amanda Foreman, the historian best known for her first book, Georgiana: Duchess of Devonshire; and the actor Dan Stevens, who appeared in the TV adaptation of the 2005 Man Booker winner The Line of Beauty and stars as Matthew Crawley in Downton Abbey.